LEN Awards Water Polo Winners 2022

Well done to Spain’s Unai Aguirre and Judith Forca.

LEN Awards Water Polo Winners

Men: Unai Aguirre (ESP)World Champion, Best goalkeeper of the World Championships, European bronze medallist, World League bronze medallist Women: Judith Forca (ESP)World Championship 5th, Top scorer of the World Championship, European champion, World League winner, Euro League runner-up (w/Sabadell)

Spain doubled down on the water polo rewards as their national teams enjoyed a great summer of 2022 – the men became world champions while the women retained their European title.

Unai Aguirre was the best goalie at the Worlds and the voters recognised his outstanding contribution – he is the first Spanish man to win the award and the third goalie since 2008.

Among the women, the Spaniards are frequent victors, Judith Forca is the third in four years and the seventh on the all-time list.

2022 LEN Awards Voting results

Water polo, MenUnai Aguirre, ESP                  36,39%Szilard Jansik, HUN               23,96%Alvaro Granados, ESP            14,93%Marko Bijac, CRO                  14,92%Giacomo Cannella, ITA         9,80% Water polo, WomenJudith Forca, ESP                   31,80%Rita Keszthelyi, HUN             27,37%Eleftheria Plevritou, GRE      17,57%Brigitte Sleeking, NED          14,63%Roberta Bianconi, ITA           8,42%

LEN Awards Water Polo Honours Board / Past winners

WATER POLO Men2008: Peter Biros (Hungary)2009: Filip Filipovic (Serbia)2010: Vanja Udovicic (Serbia)2011: Stefano Tempesti (Italy)2012: Miho Boskovic (Croatia)2013: Denes Varga (Hungary)2014: Filip Filipovic (Serbia)2015: Dusko Pijetlovic (Serbia)2016: Filip Filipovic (Serbia)2017: Marko Bijac (Croatia)2018: Filip Filipovic (Serbia)2019: Francesco di Fulvio (Italy)2021: Filip Filipovic (Serbia)2022: Unai Aguirre (Spain) Women2008: Danielle De Bruijn (Netherlands)2009: Iefke van Belkum (Netherlands)2010: Sofia Konukh (Russia)2011: Alexandra Asimaki (Greece)2012: Anni Espar (Spain)2013: Jennifer Pareja (Spain)2014: Maria Garcia (Spain)2015: Roberta Bianconi (Italy)2016: Roberta Bianconi (Italy)2017: Laura Ester (Spain)2018: Sabrina van der Sloot (Netherlands)2019: Laura Ester (Spain)2021: Beatriz Ortiz (Spain)2022: Judith Forca (Spain)