Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games Water Polo Draw / Schedule / Groups


Montenegro, Greece and Croatia secured the last three Olympic tickets that were on offer at the FINA Men’s Water Polo Olympic Games Qualification Tournamen (February 14-21, 2021).

A total of 12 men teams will be competing at the Tokyo Olympics as the above three squads join the already qualified nine teams, namely:

Serbia (FINA Water Polo World League 2019 winner), Italy and Spain (18th FINA World Championships winner and runner-up), USA (Pan American Games 2019), Australia (Oceania), Hungary (European Championships 2020), South Africa (Africa), Kazakhstan (Asia), Japan (host).

Soon after the Olympic Water Polo Qualification Tournament concluded in Rotterdam, the draws for the men’s and women’s Olympic Water Polo tournaments were held and the groups were composed as follows –

Women’s tournament

Group A: Australia, South Africa, Netherlands, Spain, Canada

Group B: Russia, China, Hungary, United States, Japan

Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games Women’s Water Polo Groups

Men’s tournament

Group A: South Africa, United States, Hungary, Greece, Japan, Italy

Group B: Australia, Croatia, Serbia, Spain, Kazakhstan, Montenegro

Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games Men’s Water Polo Groups

Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games Water polo venue / swimming pool


The water polo tournament at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games will take place at the Tokyo Tatsumi International Swimming Center.

Dates and schedule of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games Water Polo Tournament / Competition


The water polo tournament will start on 24th July, 2021 and finish on 8th August 2021.